

Calgary Firefighters
Supplementary Pension
Plan

Who's on the Board of Trustees

The Firefighters Supplementary Pension Plan (FSPP) board of trustees consists of 7 members. The Plan Sponsors (The City of Calgary and the International Association of Firefighters – Local 255) appoint three representatives each and together all six trustees select an independent trustee. The Board meets formally at least quarterly and more often when necessary in addition to conducting plan activities between meetings. The Board members are:

Dave Schnore (Chair)

Dave Schnore joined the Board of Trustees of the Calgary Firefighters Supplemental Pension Plan as Chair in January 2024. Dave was employed by the Universities Academic Pension Plan (UAPP) for over 15 years and retired as Executive Director in early 2024.

Prior to joining UAPP, Dave was a pension consultant with Aon Consulting from 1989 to 2008. Dave commenced his career in 1981, working with various types of retirement plans as an Account Manager with the National Trust Company.

Dave is a member of the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans where he has been a moderator at conferences, has spoken at industry seminars such as the Canadian Pension & Benefits Institute, and has been an instructor for the Humber College Pension Plan Administration Certificate program.

Nelson Karpa

Nelson Karpa was appointed by the City of Calgary to serve on the Board effective September 2016. Nelson is currently a member of the Manitoba Municipal Board and an instructor for the University of British Columbia. Nelson retired from the City of Calgary in May, 2020. He previously was the City Assessor for the City of Calgary, assuming that position in January 2013.

Prior to joining the City of Calgary, Nelson was the Director of Assessment and Taxation for the City of Winnipeg. Nelson spent a total of 23 years with the City of Winnipeg. Previously, Nelson was with the Province of Manitoba for six years. Nelson was also a Sectional Instructor with the University of Manitoba, for six years.

Nelson holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honors) degree and a Master of Business Administration degree from the University of Manitoba.

Tristan Shanks

Tristan Shanks was appointed by the International Association of Firefighters (IAFF) - Local 255 to serve on the Firefighters Supplementary Pension Plan Board in 2016. Tristan has been a Firefighter with the City of Calgary since 2006 and currently serves as an Acting Lieutenant on "A" Platoon. Tristan also served as an IAFF Local 255 Union Steward, and enjoyed a previous career with BMO Bank of Montreal as a Certified Financial Planner (CFP)™.

Andrew Cutforth

Andrew Cutforth was appointed by the International Association of Firefighters (IAFF) - Local 255 to serve on the Firefighters Supplementary Pension Plan Board in 2018. Andrew has been a Firefighter with the Calgary Fire Department since 2003. He is currently serving as a Lieutenant on "B" shift. Prior to joining the Calgary Fire Department, Andrew served as a Grande Prairie Firefighter from 2001 to 2003.

Jamie Blayney

Jamie Blayney was appointed by the International Association of Firefighters (IAFF) - Local 255 to serve on the Firefighters Supplementary Pension Plan Board in 2020. Jamie has been a Firefighter with the Calgary Fire Department since 2005. He is currently serving as a Lieutenant/Acting Captain on "A" shift. Prior to joining the Calgary Fire Department, Jamie was employed for 13 years in the private sector working for Loblaws Canada holding several Finance positions. Jamie also served on the Local 255 Executive Board from 2014 – 2020 and 2023 – Present as Association President.

Sharon Fleming

Sharon Fleming was appointed by the City of Calgary to serve on the Board effective March 2021. Sharon has been Director of Fleet Services at the City of Calgary since January 2018. Prior to joining the City of Calgary, Sharon held an over 15 year tenure at the City of Toronto in a variety of business areas including corporate services, public works administration, waste and recycling, and fleet.

Sharon's expertise includes implementing significant change initiatives, developing strategic plans and key performance indicators, managing budget development, labour relations, customer service, conducting public, industry, and political engagement, establishing revenue models, and utilizing technology and business practice improvements to promote efficiencies. Sharon is also a Director on the Calgary Girls Charter School Board where she leads the Communications Committee.

Sharon holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from the Schulich School of Business, York University and a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) from Wilfrid Laurier University.

Jana Tchinkova

Jana Tchinkova was appointed by the City of Calgary on the Board effective September 2021. She is a seasoned finance leader with more than 18 years of service in a variety of roles at The City of Calgary. Jana started her career in 2005 as a Benefits and Pensions Finance Specialist where she developed a keen interest in the City's benefits and pension plans design and financial management. She progressed through several roles in the City's Finance business unit and in 2016 Jana joined Calgary Housing Company, a subsidiary of the City of Calgary. In her role as Chief Finance and Risk Officer Jana provides senior leadership in the areas of financial reporting and management, investments, debt management, supply chain, internal controls and risk management through a vision of credibility, forward thinking and continuous improvement.

She has a Masters of Public Administration (MPA), Public Finance concentration, from the Eller College of Management at the University of Arizona, and holds a Chartered Professional Accountant (CGA,CPA) designation.

Emilian Groch

Emilian Groch retired effective December 31, 2023.